The Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist Award

Document created by Michael Davis on Jul 11, 2019Last modified by Michael Davis on Jul 11, 2019
Version 2Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Sierra Nevada Distinguished Chemist Award


This award and lectureship is awarded biennially by the Sierra Nevada Section of the American Chemical Society to a scientist who has made major contributions to Chemistry. The award was first given in 1993.


1993: Professor Dudley R. Hershbach, Harvard University
1995: Professor Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology
1997: Professor W. Carl Lineberger, University of Colorado, Boulder
1999: Professor George M. Whitesides, Harvard University
2001: Professor Richard N. Zare, Stanford University
2003: Professor Graham Fleming, University of California, Berkeley
2005: Professor Jack Norton, Columbia University 
2007: Professor Maurice Brookhart, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2009: Professor Kenneth D. Karlin, Johns Hopkins University
2011: Professor Alan Balch, University of California, Davis
2013: Professor Melanie Sanford, University of Michigan
2014: Professor John F. Hartwig, University of California, Berkeley
2016: Professor Amos B. Smith III, University of Pennsylvania
2017: Professor Jamie Cate, University of California, Berkeley