Maya Nilkant

Dr. Serena Debeer - 2016 Inorganic Chemistry Lecturship Award

Blog Post created by Maya Nilkant on Jun 6, 2017

By Ana de Bettencourt-Dias


     The WCC congratulates Dr. Serena DeBeer, the 2016  Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award recipient. Serena received her BS in Chemistry at Southwestern University in 1995 and her PhD in Chemistry from Stanford University in 2002, where she worked with Edward I. Solomon and Keith O. Hodgson. She then worked as beam line and staff scientist at the Stanford Linear Accelerator until 2009 and then moved to Cornell University for her first faculty position. In 2011, she accepted the position of Professor and Research Group Leader at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion in Mülheim, Germany. Serena received her award for her contributions to the development and application of  advanced X‐ray spectroscopy coupled to computational methods to understand key mechanisms in biological, homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis. Her award address will be at the ACS National Meeting in San Francisco, CA, on April 3, 2017.