Michelle Rogers

WCC/Eli Lilly Travel Award Poster Session

Blog Post created by Michelle Rogers on Jul 27, 2017

By Amy Balija


On Tuesday April 4, the WCC/Eli Lilly Travel Award Poster Session occurred prior to the WCC Luncheon. The poster session allows the winners to present their research to a broad audience, network with high ranking members of the ACS governance and WCC executive committee members, and receive acknowledgment for their accomplishments.


For Spring 2017, there were 10 award winners: Sarah Allec (University of California, Riverside), Alexa Barres (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Katherine Benavides (University of Texas at Dallas), Audrey Gallagher (Northwestern University), Anna Krieger (Gustavus Aldolphus College), Kelly Powderly (Northwestern University), Elaine Qian (University of California, Los Angeles), Taylor Sodano (University of Michigan), Madeline Wheeler (Dickinson College), and Bib Yang (University of Massachusetts at Amherst).  Their research interests and educational backgrounds were varied, providing an excellent opportunity for attendees to learn different aspects of chemistry.


The WCC/Eli Lilly Travel Award[RM1] [JW2] provides funds to support undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral female chemists to present their research at selected meeting or conference. The deadlines for applying are March 1 for meetings between July 1 and December 31 and September 15 for meetings between January 1 and June 30.


Lilly Photo 1_web.jpg

Lilly Photo 2_web.jpg