CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR 2013 CAROTHERS AWARD

The American Chemical Society, Delaware Section is seeking nominations for the Carothers Award. Presented annually, the award recognizes scientific innovators who have made outstanding contributions and advances in industrial applications of chemistry. The award consists of the Carothers Award Sculpture and a cash award of \$2,000.

The award will be presented at the annual Carothers Award Lecture in April, 2013. Previous award recipients include Ronald Knudsen, Jean Fréchet, Hiroshi Ito, Harry Spinelli, Richard DiMarchi, Alan Davison, Richard Heck, James Stevens, Frances Arnold, Joseph DeSimone, Ching Tang, Robert Langer, Barry Sharpless, Mario Geysen, Walter Kaminsky, Edith Flanigen, Herbert Eleuterio, Ralph Hirschmann, David Bryant, Grant Willson, Murrae Bowden, Frank Bovey, Paul Janssen, John Franz, Paul Morgan, Paul Weisz, Lewis Sarett, Paul Flory, Alan Hay, Louis Plambeck, John Sinfelt, William Baker, Carl Marvel, Herman Mark, and Edwin Land.

Nominations should include the nominee's name, present position, and address; a concise resume of the nominee's professional career; a narrative summary of the scientific achievements that form the basis for the nomination, including explanations of the importance of the work including if possible financial impact; a list of honors and awards with the dates received and the organizations conferring these; and a list of the nominee's more important publications. Additional supporting letters are encouraged. Send all materials to

Allison B. Moore, Ph.D. Secretary, Carothers Award Committee abmoore@ashland.com 302.995.4140 voice

Applications can also be mailed to Allison B. Moore, Ph.D. Secretary, Carothers Award Committee Ashland Research Center 500 Hercules Road Building 8100/ Room 206 Wilmington, DE 19808-1599

If you know of a highly qualified person, but do not want to submit a nomination, please contact the Secretary with the person's name and affiliation by E-mail. The deadline for 2013 Carothers Award nomination is November 30, 2011. The nominations submitted after the deadline will be considered for future years other than the year of 2013.

The Carothers Lecture Award was established by the Delaware Section of the American Chemical Society in 1976 in memory of Wallace H. Carothers, one of the founders of modern polymer chemistry. The purpose of the award is to honor scientific innovators who have made outstanding contributions and advances in industrial applications of chemistry. The award is sponsored by the Delaware Section and by local chemical companies. The award consists of a sculpture, commissioned by the Delaware Section, and a cash prize of \$2000. The sculpture consists of two hands holding a benzene ring, depicting a person shaping molecules. The artist is Mr. Domenico Mortellito, a well known local sculptor, muralist, and painter, who pioneered the use of synthetic materials in the fine arts.