# Washington Idaho Border Section



# (**October 2011**)



# Inside this letter:

- ✓ Welcome
- ✓ News
- ✓ Opportunities
- ✓ Get to know a member
- ✓ Contact Information

### Did You Know:

- ✓ The Washington Idaho Border Section of the ACS is composed over 200 members that span 4 counties in the southeast corner of Washington and panhandle of Idaho
- ✓ WIBS has a new website: http://wibs.sites.acs.org

**Welcome!** The Washington Idaho Border Section of the ACS (WIBS) is pleased to present this long overdue newsletter to our local section members. In 2011, the current WIBS executive committee decided to work toward revitalizing section, with an aim of increasing our of participation and providing a number educational and outreach opportunities to our members. We are excited about this process and welcome feedback and ideas for how we can better serve you! (see contact info below).

**Website.** The section has a new website hosted by ACS (<u>http://wibs.sites.acs.org</u>) Please visit and see photos, download applications for travel grants, and hear more about upcoming events.

**Elections.** Would you like to be on the executive committee of WIBS? Nominations and solicitations are open for the 2012 Chair-Elect position. Please email williams@uidaho.edu with contact info.

#### **Opportunities**

- WIBS is initiating a travel grant program for graduate and undergraduate students attending their first scientific meeting. Application materials can be found at <u>http://wibs.sites.acs.org</u>
- Do you know a student that would benefit from being a WIBS member? We will pay for their first year of membership! Visit the website for application materials.

**News.** WIBS members have had an incredibly successful year. Here are some highlights:

- **Kirk Peterson** has been named Meyer Distinguished Professor and received the Distinguished Faculty Award by the College of Sciences at WSU
- Malcolm M. Renfrew. There were many events over several weeks to celebrate Malcolm's 100<sup>th</sup> birthday last year. Ned Heindel, past president of the ACS, visited the UI to mark the occasion by presenting the 2010 Renfrew Distinguished Lecture in Chemistry "Nostrums, Quackery, Patent Medicines and the Contributions of Malcolm Renfrew". Malcolm served as the long-time WIBS Councilor (1969-1989) and actively participated in the ACS Chemical Health and Safety, Chemical Marketing and Econ, and Chemical Education Divisions as well as Committees of the Council. Malcolm is the recipient of many ACS awards and recognitions.
- Scot Wherland received Thomas E. Lutz Teaching Award from College of Sciences at WSU
- **Peter R. Griffiths** (UI)- Received the 2011 Anachem Award, which was established in 1953 and is presented annually to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration or other activity which has advanced the art and science of the field.
- The following have been named Fellows of the American Chemical Society: Herb Hill, Ursula Mazur, Glen Crosby, Sue Clark, K.W. Hipps, Ken Nash, Malcolm Renfrew, Jean'ne Shreeve.
- **Rachel Jameton** (organic chemistry, LCSC) is currently working on development of a new organic chemistry textbook for W.H. Freeman with co-author Denise Guinn.
- Sue Clark (WSU) has been appointed by President Obama to serve on the U.S. Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board

# **WIBS Newsletter Oct. 2011**

#### News (cont):

- Jean'ne M. Shreeve was appointed an inaugural Distinguished University Professor in April and has served in many ACS leadership roles including Chair and Councilor for the Fluorine and Inorganic Divisions and Director of Region VI. Jean'ne was also active in AAAS having served on the Board of Directors. She was appointed by President George W. Bush as Chair of the president's National Medal of Science Committee. In October 2011, the Jean'ne M. Shreeve NSF EPSCoR Research Excellence Award will be announced by the Idaho EPSCoR Committee established to recognize research accomplishments by a faculty member at UI, BSU or ISU whose career has been propelled by NSF EPSCoR and to recognize Jean'ne's leadership of EPSCoR in Idaho for more than 20 years.
- The LCSC chemistry program had two Spring 2011 graduates and both have moved onto PhD programs: Baoyao Huang (University of Utah for organic/medicinal chemistry) and Kim Fong (Vanderbilt University for organic/biochemistry)

Get to Know a Member. Daniel Stelck (WIBS, Secretary Treasurer) - has continued his highly acclaimed outreach programs the Christmas Chemistry Show (sold out, standing room only performance) and chemistry themed summer camp, this year "Chemistry Sleuths". Dan also serves as faculty advisor to the UI Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society (SAACS). Under his guidance the SAACS started in 2010 an ambitious project an after-school program at Lena Whitmore Elementary School. They visited the school approximately once per month and offered the program to ~50 students (all grades K-6) for 1 to 1.5 hours each visit. They began each with a science demonstration. session the science involved discussed in the demonstration and finished with hands-on experiments with each student participating. They are continuing this program this year at the Moscow Charter School.

**Tenure and Promotion.** The following WIBS members were awarded tenure and or promotion. Congratulations!

- Wendy Shuttleworth and Paul Buckly(LCSC) Professor.
- Ming Xian and Aurora Clark (WSU)
  Associate Professor
- I. Frank Cheng (Professor), Eric B. Brauns and Patrick J. Hrdlicka (Associate Professor) (UI)

#### **Contact Information.**

#### Chair:

Timothy J Cantrell GoNano Technologies, Inc. <u>cantrell@gonano-9.com</u>

Chair-Elect: Aurora E Clark Department of Chemistry Washington State University auclark@wsu.edu

#### Secretary-Treasurer:

Daniel Stelck Department of Chemistry University of Idaho <u>daniels@uidaho.edu</u>

#### **Councilor:**

Richard Williams Department of Chemistry University of Idaho Williams@uidaho.edu

#### Alternate Councilor:

Kirk A Peterson Department of Chemistry Washington State University <u>kipeters@wsu.edu</u>