cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lynam
New Contributor

High-rise soap bubble apocalypse! sleuthing ideas

Hi Chemists!

I'm a research scientist working in another field (radio / networks), and I often like to hear interesting problems; sometimes it gives me creative new ideas. So I figured I'd try to see if there would be Chemists likewise interested in a problem I heard about. 

I live in a 20+ floor high-rise building in San Jose, CA. There's a problem where a few times a year, a huge amount of soap bubbles start coming out of the toilets of people living on the lowest floor, engulfing their  bathroom in suds. We call this a "bubble-rama" and each time it causes $1000s in damages -- upwards of $50,000 so far. It's serious and expensive. It seems to have just started in 2021.

The building engineer suspects that someone is dumping way too much laundry detergent into their washing machine. One piece of evidence is that sometimes the water in the bubble-rama victim's toilet turns noticeably blue when it happens.

We are looking for creative ways to isolate who it might be. About 20 units share the same drain-pipe, so any one of those residents/families that could be the source. Imagine at least 3/4 of them would be fully cooperative to try things out; the people here are generally friendly and helpful.

Are there chemistry solutions here? For instance, are there additives we could ask people to add to their detergents so we could differentiate whose laundry did or did not cause the problem? Is it feasible to do a chemical analysis of the detergent and match it up with different brands?

Some thoughts / questions so far...

1) Are there other chemical reactions in common household goods that might produce extreme amount of bubbles? (I saw a picture -- imagine an entire bathroom with bubbles 1 high)