cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
todd40324
New Contributor

Forensic Chemistry Course Lecture and Laboratory?

Greetings!  I am new to teaching Forensic Chemistry.  We currently offer a 2-credit hour lecture course and I am considering increasing this to a 3-credit hour course.  I was curious: how many of the professors on this forum that currently teach a Forensic Chemistry course offer a laboratory course as well (either integrated with the lecture or as a separate course)?

8 Replies
Previous Community Member
Not applicable

Greetings Todd,

Ideally, having a lab component in any science course is the only way for students to see the applicability of the scientific method as well as the protocol that scientists follow when conducting experiments, especially in Forensics where discovery and investigation is at the heart of it.

I have been teaching Forensic Science for over 20 years to college, HS, and little kids using hands-on approach to uncover the connection between physical evidence and the scientific method.

I strongly encourage you to include a lab component to your course. Consult Flinn Scientific or Carolina Biological for prepackaged labs you may consider in ALL areas of Forensics, from drug analysis to fingerprinting, etc. etc. This is a great entry for the students to the joy of science...indeed.

Best wishes. 

Prof. Diab

cmert
New Contributor

I've been teaching a 3-cr hr forensic chemistry course for non-science majors and I really encourage the lab component as well.  I have the lab integrated with lecture but have considered splitting the lab out so that they have a more defined amount of time in lab.  Most really appreciate the hands-on experience as well as understanding how protocol, technique, etc could affect one's results if they are not careful.

0 Kudos
New Contributor

Hello,