cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

I am a PhD candidate nearing the end of my degree looking to do an industry internship before I finish. Where can I find out about opportunities for possible green chemistry internships with industry partners?

Hard-working green-minded PhD student based in NYC looking for a 2 month to 4 month industry internship to garner a better understanding of how green chemistry in industry works. While my background is in organic materials, I have organic chemistry and engineering experience.

Looking for connection to potential industrial advisors for an applicable internship. Very open to all ideas.

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
anna_ivanova
New Contributor III

Re: I am a PhD candidate nearing the end of my degree looking to do an industry internship before I finish. Where can I find out about opportunities for possible green chemistry internships with industry partners?

The GC3 has a Fellows Program meant to address this exact problem, but it takes place during the summer and the application period won't be until early next year, which I assume is too late for your purposes. If not, you can check out last year's criteria here: GC3 Fellows Program 2015 — Green Chemistry and Commerce and keep an eye out for updates from the GC3!

The green chemistry field is pretty small, so being a Ph.D. student interested in green chem already gives you a unique advantage. In my experience, there are many companies who would be willing to take on an intern for a couple of months, but they don't necessarily advertise their openings. Some companies who do GC work that you might be surprised by include:

• Staples
  • HP
  • 3M
  • Steelcase