cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Previous Community Member
Not applicable

Is a person with an M.S. in chemistry plus 10 years of experience more marketable today than a Ph.D. with 0-3 years of experience?

What do you think?

14 Replies
Bagal
New Contributor

Re: Is a person with an M.S. in chemistry plus 10 years of experience more marketable today than a Ph.D. with 0-3 years of experience?

I am a chemist with an MS degree with considerably over ten years experience in industry,

I think the experienced MS may have an easier time than a newly minted PhD, since after ten years of work not only can the MS demonstrate research experience in nonacademic settings, but also tends to present as more attuned to corporate/industrial/nonacademic culture. On the other hand, I suspect that when facing an interview committee of PhDs, the MS candidate would still be at somewhat of a disadvantage, However, most experienced professionals know how to prepare for specific interview situations and are generally pretty confident with any level.

How would the new PhD distinguish herself/himself from the seasoned MS competitor? I think the new doctorate should show the potential to contribute, and to imply the advantages  to the company of the authority that tends to be attributed to PhDs. If the position is for a research associate, the PhD should somehow demonstrate that s/he could reach senior scientist, director, and more. Thei ntervviewee should give a polished, confident presentaiton of research, have good communication skills during the interview, and display knowledge of the  company as a business.  If a new PhD appeared to have the potential to become as knowledgeable as the MS already is, I think that the PhD could be favored.

lidijabondarenko
New Contributor

Re: Is a person with an M.S. in chemistry plus 10 years of experience more marketable today than a Ph.D. with 0-3 years of experience?

Most importat is the industrial experience.