cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Geological Question. How do you imagine?

Today is December 30, 2011.

Today, I am reading a book edited by D. Deamer and J. Szostak published from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.

Of course I am a layman as to the geological field. Regarding this field, I am almost like a 800 pounds Gollira having IQ 40.

On page 41, a possibility of hot rain of 200 degrees Celsius or 350 degrees that might fall on the ancient Erath was written.

First of all, can water exist in liquid state at such  high temperatures?

If I would go to that era by a time machine, and if I would wear a survival siute, then can I endure that heat?

Oh, atchitchitchi!

How did the hot rain fall?

What chemicals were the constituents of that rain?

Did it erode everything including even the Earth surface rocks?

How fast was the speed of the falling rain?  Was the associated wind so enormous?

Was it associated by huge thunders?

Was it like the current Venus surface?

How do you imagine the ancient Earth surface chemically?

Imagine the past nascent Earth surface of about 4.0Ga yaears ago!!

Looking forward to receiving your various imaginations,

complexpotential

December 30, 2011

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Mei-LingHAM
New Contributor

Re: A Geological Question. How do you imagine?

January 31, 2012

Hello!

Perhaps this article from NASA on Early Earth will provide you with more information:

http://astrobiology.nasa.gov/articles/earth-s-early-atmosphere-an-update/

0 Kudos

February 4, 2012

Dear Mr. Hamilton,

I have heard your voice "Hello!" clearly and loudly.

Thank you very much for your very precious advice.

From NASA'S website pages you indicated, I have understood that the key tools for measuring or inferring the oxidatiion state of the early Earth's atmosphere are the zircon and  cerium atom.  Can we conclude now as finally that the oxidation level of the nascent Earth atmosphere was near the current atmosphere?