cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jlsmit5964
New Contributor

Question about cleaning

Hello,
I came across your chemistry question website and wanted to ask a few questions. 

I have been cleaning with 3% hydrogen peroxide and 5% white vinegar.  I’d mix both, 50/50 in a 28oz spray bottle (no water). 
I just recently read that this “could” produce peracetic acid, which also “could” be harmful to eyes/lungs/skin. 
I’ve been using this formula for around 5 years. I’ve never had skin burns, but I have noticed eye/throat discomfort when scrubbing inside my shower. I thought the discomfort was due to the vinegar, but none of the symptoms  lingered. 
My questions is, should I be concerned with the heath effects of having been cleaning with this for so long? 
I do plan to talk to my dr about it, as I’m in my third trimester of pregnancy, but I wanted to ask a chemist.  I called poison control but they didn’t have much insight, especially with pregnancy. 
I truly appreciate your time and help.  
Kind regards,
Julie Moore 
0 Kudos
7 Replies

Re: Question about cleaning

Interesting question!  The equilibrium constant for this reaction is around 2 at 20°C:

Kinetics of Formation of Peroxyacetic Acid 

Dul’neva, L. & Moskvin, A.. (2005). Kinetics of Formation of Peroxyacetic Acid. Russian Journal of General Chemistry. 75. 1125-1130. 10.1007/s11176-005-0378-8.

If [H2O2] = 0.44 M and [acetic acid] = 0.42 M and [H2O] = 55 M, then [peracetic acid] = 0.0065 M at equilibrium 

which is just enough peracetic acid to provide some extra antiseptic activity.  It’s also enough to be irritating but I doubt it’s a serious hazard.  Perhaps others are more familiar with this hazard?

These authors also report the enthalpy of reaction as -14 kJ/mol, which allows one to calculate the enthalpy of formation of peracetic acid as -400 kJ/mol. 

0 Kudos
scooke
Contributor III