0 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2013 4:44 PM by Shawn Torres

    Call for Papers - Chemistry in Motion - Abstract Submission is Open for Indy 2013

    Shawn Torres

      Hello everyone,

      Abstract Submission for the Fall 2013 246th American Chemical Society National Meeting & Exposition themed the "Chemistry in Motion" is now open. Deadlines for papers begin March 18, 2013. The meeting will be held in Indianapolis, IN, September 8-12, 2013. We encourage you to present to your peers and participate. Below is an excerpt of theme synopsis by Professor Robert A. Weiss, Indianapolis Thematic Program Chair and more complete listing of Division contacts and deadlines.


      Helpful links:

      Submit Your Abstract

      Log in using your ACS ID to submit your abstract.

      Indianapolis Technical Symposia

      Find division program chair and symposium organizer contact information, abstract submission deadlines, and meeting symposia details.

       

      "Cars, rail and planes are the dominant examples of chemistry in motion. Those modes of transportation have historically relied upon energy from fossil fuels and high density materials of construction. Petroleum, however, is becoming a more precious and valued resource and the economy of transportation depends on the mass of the vehicle, the efficiency of the power plant and the drag and friction associated with motion of the vehicle. As a result, society demands more economical production of petroleum-based fuels, development of alternative fuels and lightweight building components and more efficient and aerodynamic designs of our transportation vehicles. That, in turn, requires

      advances in catalysis, the development of bio-based and renewable production of fuels and lightweight, structural materials, the development of new economically viable sources of power such as hydrogen fuel cells and photovoltaics, as well as health and environmental effects of those technologies. On the one hand, chemistry will facilitate the refinery of the future, and on the other hand it will provide the means to replace the those refineries with sustainable technologies and bio- or agro-based renewable methods to use chemistry for motion.The Indianapolis meeting will showcase contemporary research and future technologies that will transform the transportation industry in the 21st century. Divisions can participate in the chemistry in motion theme by programming and developing joint symposia on catalysis, biofuels, alternative energy, lightweight materials, health and the environment and tribology."

       

       

      Submission
      Deadline
      DivisionProgram Chair
      Apr 12, 2013AEI
      Academic Employment Initiative
      Corrie Kuniyoshi - Program Chair
      c_kuniyoshi@acs.org
      Joe Z. Sostaric - Program Chair
      joesostaric@hotmail.com
      Mar 18, 2013AGFD
      Division of Agricultural and Food Chemistry
      Lauren Jackson - Program Administrator
      lauren.jackson@fda.hhs.gov
      Michael Qian - Program Chair
      michael.qian@oregonstate.edu
      Mar 18, 2013AGRO
      Division of Agrochemicals
      Stephen   Duke - Program Chair
      stephen.duke@ars.usda.gov
      Cathleen Hapeman - Program Administrator
      cathleen.hapeman@ars.usda.gov
      Mar 25, 2013ANYL
      Division of Analytical Chemistry
      Thomas Rossi - Program Chair
      trossi@korepharma.com
      Mar 18, 2013BIOL
      Division of Biological Chemistry
      Sheila David - Program Chair
      ssdavid@ucdavis.edu
      Mar 26, 2013CARB
      Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry
      Xuefei Huang - Program Chair
      xuefei@chemistry.msu.edu
      Mar 18, 2013CATL
      Division of Catalysis Science and Technology
      Phillip Christopher - Program Chair
      christopher@engr.ucr.edu
      Mar 18, 2013CEI
      Committee on Environmental Improvement
      Rich   Lomneth - Program Chair
      rlomneth@unomaha.edu
      Mar 18, 2013CELL
      Division of Cellulose and Renewable Materials
      Thomas Elder - Program Chair
      telder@fs.fed.us
      Peney   Patton - Program Administrator
      acs_cell@hotmail.com
      Apr 01, 2013CHAL
      Division of Chemistry and the Law
      Krista Bianco - Program Chair
      krista.bianco@finnegan.com
      Justin Hasford - Program Chair
      justin.hasford@finnegan.com
      Mar 18, 2013CHAS
      Division of Chemical Health and Safety
      Debbie M. Decker - Program Chair
      dmdecker@ucdavis.edu
      Linda M. Stroud - Program Chair
      LMStroud@aol.com
      Mar 18, 2013CHED
      Division of Chemical Education
      Nancy Bakowski - Program Administrator
      n_bakowski@acs.org
      Irvin J. Levy - Program Chair
      irv.levy@gordon.edu
      Robin Lindsey - Program Administrator
      r_lindsey@acs.org
      Tyson Miller - Program Chair
      tyson.miller@uconn.edu
      Julianne Smist - Program Chair
      jsmist@springfieldcollege.edu
      Christopher Zeigler - Program Administrator
      c_zeigler@acs.org
      Mar 18, 2013CINF
      Division of Chemical Information
      Jeremy Garritano - Program Chair
      jgarrita@purdue.edu
      Mar 18, 2013CMA
      Committee on Minority Affairs
      Jerry Sarquis - Program Chair
      sarquiJL@muohio.edu
      Mar 29, 2013COLL
      Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry
      Ramanathan Nagarajan - Program Chair
      ramanathan.nagarajan.civ@mail.mil
      Mar 19, 2013COMP
      Division of Computers in Chemistry
      Emilio Xavier Esposito - Program Chair
      emilio.esposito@gmail.com
      Scott Wildman - Program Chair
      wildman@biochem.wustl.edu
      Apr 01, 2013ENFL
      Division of Energy and Fuels
      Yun Hu - Program Chair
      yunhangh@mtu.edu
      Ranjit Koodali - Program Chair
      Ranjit.Koodali@usd.edu
      Mar 18, 2013ENVR
      Division of Environmental Chemistry
      Dionysios Dionysiou - Program Chair
      DIONYSIOS.D.DIONYSIOU@UC.EDU
      Penelope Patton - Program Administrator
      acs_envr@hotmail.com
      Mar 18, 2013GEOC
      Division of Geochemistry
      Andrew Stack - Program Chair
      stackag@ornl.gov
      Apr 01, 2013HIST
      Division of the History of Chemistry
      Seth C Rasmussen - Program Chair
      seth.rasmussen@ndsu.edu
      Mar 20, 2013I&EC
      Division of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry
      Mary   Moore - Program Chair
      mkmoore123@gmail.com
      Mar 18, 2013INOR
      Division of Inorganic Chemistry
      Stephen Koch - Program Chair
      koch.stephen@gmail.com
      Nora Radu - Program Chair
      nora.s.radu@usa.dupont.com
      Mar 25, 2013MEDI
      Division of Medicinal Chemistry
      Catherine Hathaway - Program Administrator
      catherine.hathaway@bms.com
      John Macor - Program Chair
      john.macor@bms.com
      Mar 18, 2013NUCL
      Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology
      Jenifer   Braley - Program Chair
      jenifer.braley@gmail.com
      Kenneth Nash - Program Chair
      knash@wsu.edu
      Mar 18, 2013ORGN
      Division of Organic Chemistry
      Robert Gawley - Program Chair
      bgawley@uark.edu
      Matt   McIntosh - Program Chair
      mcintosh@uark.edu
      Mar 18, 2013PHYS
      Division of Physical Chemistry
      Joel Bowman - Program Chair
      jmbowma@emory.edu
      Mar 18, 2013PMSE
      Division of Polymeric Materials Science and Engineering
      Matthew Becker - Program Chair
      becker@uakron.edu
      Eileen Ernst - Program Administrator
      eernst@comcast.net
      Sergio   Granados-Focil - Program Chair
      sgranadosfocil@clarku.edu
      Alshakim Nelson - Program Chair
      alshak@us.ibm.com
      Christopher Stafford - Program Chair
      chris.stafford@nist.gov
      Mar 18, 2013POLY
      Division of Polymer Chemistry
      Dylan Boday - Program Administrator
      djboday@gmail.com
      Scott Iacono - Program Chair
      scott.iacono@usafa.edu
      Sheng Lin-Gibson - Program Chair
      slgibson@nist.gov
      Kathy Mitchem - Program Administrator
      kathyl@vt.edu
      Jeffrey Youngblood - Program Chair
      jpyoungb@purdue.edu
      Mar 25, 2013SCHB
      Division of Small Chemical Businesses
      Joseph Sabol - Program Chair
      jsabol@chem-consult.com
      Mar 18, 2013TOXI
      Division of Chemical Toxicology
      William Humphreys - Program Chair
      william.humphreys@bms.com