Donivan Porterfield

ISEF 2013 – American Chemical Society Special Awards

Discussion created by Donivan Porterfield on May 20, 2013

The American Chemical Society awarded the following Special Awards at the 2013 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (May 13-17) in Phoenix, Arizona:



First Award of $4,000


Nanostructured Co3O4, CoO and CoN as High Capacity and Long Life Anodes for Li-ion Batteries

Prithvi Gundlapalli, 17, Saint Andrew's Junior College, Singapore



Second Award of $3,000


Design and Synthesis of Hydrogenated TiO2-Polyaniline Nanorods for Flexible High-Performance Supercapacitors

Eesha Khare, 18, Lynbrook High School, San Jose, California



Third Award of $2,000


A Sustainable and Low Cost Approach for Cleaning Metal Contaminated Water Using Pyrolyzed Banana Peels

Bluye B. DeMessie, 16, William Mason High School, Mason, Ohio



Fourth Award of $1,000


Preparation of a Self-Propelled Nanomotor

Michael Nguyen Trinh, 17, Plano East Senior High School, Plano, Texas

Jessica Hong, 15, Clark High School, Plano, Texas



Certificate of Honorable Mention


Carbon Encapsulated Iron Nanoparticles for Catalytic Conversion of Biomass Derived Syngas to Liquid Fuels

Wenhao Yan, 15, The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science, Columbus, Mississippi


Towards Next-Generation Nanomaterials: Atomistic, First-Principles Analysis of N-Doped Reduced Graphene Oxide

Shyamal Buch, 17, Vista del Lago High School, Folsom, California


Design and Synthesis of Novel Tetraphenylporphyrin-based Metal-Organic Frameworks for Photodynamic Therapy and Drug Delivery

Landon Yates Carter, 16, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, North Carolina


Alternative Energy: Using Nanotechnology to Transfer Energy between Bioluminescent Firefly Proteins & Fluorescent Quantum Rods

Olivia Helen Sheppard, 15, Manlius Pebble Hill School, Dewitt, New York


Hydrogen Production Using Ultra Low-Cost Soybean-Molybdenum Catalysts

Shilpa Iyer, 17, Comsewogue High School, Port Jefferson Station, New York

Shweta Iyer, 17, Comsewogue High School, Port Jefferson Station, New York


Simple and Cost-Effective Detection of Cadmium Using an Electrochemical Sensor Made with Gold Nanoparticles

Seung Hye Choi, 14, University High School, Fresno, California



All award winners and honorable mentions receive a subscription to ChemMatters.


Further information about the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair and related programs is available at: