cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A petit chemical question

Dear all,

First please be informed that as to the chemistry I am a perfect layman.

Please consider a phenol molecule of which -OH group is attached onto some substrate surface.  And please assume that one of the six carbon atoms is labeled by a radioactive isotope 13C.  I think that we usually image that each of the carbon atom is fixed at each specific corner of the hexagon.  I think that we usually regard that the entire electron cloud is working in order to fix the each carbon nucleus on its own position forever.

Here I would like to ask a question.  All of the nuclei in the benzen ring are quantum entities.  So, it inclines me to suppose that all of the member nuclei are suffering positional uncertainty.  That is, I would like to imagine that the 13C nucleus might be wandering from corner to corner, or even jumping the next corner and arriving at the third corner as the time passes.  Do you think such a positional leap or an exchnage of nucleus without disturbing the quantum mechanical state of the entwining electron cloud is possible?

Thank you for reading

Sincerely

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Joshkurutz
Contributor II

Re: A petit chemical question

Mitsuru,

Thanks for asking. This is an interesting question.

First, let's clear up one point: 13C is not radioactive, 14C is. 13C is a stable isotope with a spin-1/2 nucleus, which makes it amenable to study by nuclear magnetic resonance. 13C NMR is, in fact, an extremely common technique.

In practice, we know that 13C nuclei stay put, and do not relocate to other parts of the molecule. It may help you to consider a few points:

- Electron positions are so indeterminate because they have a high degree of kinetic energy and have very little mass (relative to protons and neutrons, at least). That's why we describe them with orbitals, which are basically positional probability distributions