AnsweredAssumed Answered

medical chemistry question - disulfide bond degradation

Question asked by B Dev on Apr 23, 2018

Can an expert here enlighten me about what might be happening with this product, and the explanation of how it works? I am a GP physician, but I do not pretend to be a chemistry expert. Apparently this company has a new technique for breaking the disulfide bonds in the proteinaceous membranes of noxious micro-organisms, rendering them far more prone to normal enzymatic degradation than otherwise... if I am reading this correctly. They claim to have found "protocatalyst" compounds in plant essential oils that achieve their results.

I am trying to determine if this product is legit or not: mirorcore.apps-1and1.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/Overview-of-our-Science.pdf (also attached to this post). You may want to jump to the second half of the article, as the first half is 101 explanatory info.

Not much is revealed on the website about this specific product, Miror EFP; apparently it is only sold through multi-level marketing schemes (yes, I know, first tip-off). Nevertheless...

Here are some excerpts from the pdf:

“Normally, specific enzymes must be added to achieve any protein degradation. Historically, chemicals have not been a viable option in protein degradation, and thus the ability of MirorCore’s research and the development of our products represent an historic milestone in the history of chemistry. Our breakthrough ability to breakdown the amino acid structure that represent the cell walls in proteins allows our formulations to manipulate, control and correct cells and their activities.