REQUEST FOR SUGGESTIONS FOR 2020 DIRECTORS AND SOCIETY OFFICERS

A Reminder

The Committee on Nominations and Elections needs the aid of Councilors in discharging the following responsibilities specified in the Bylaws:

- 1. receiving from members suggestions of persons who should be considered when selecting proposed nominees for SOCIETY offices
- 2. preparing a panel of nominees for District Directors and President-Elect, and of candidates for Directors-at-Large

The Committee asks each Councilor to examine the following list of positions to be filled on January 1, 2020, and the list of those continuing in related posts. Names of individuals suggested for nominations should then be inserted in the appropriate blanks. These sheets can be left on the table near the door as you leave the Council meeting, or emailed to the Chair of the Committee: Dr. Les W. McQuire nomelect@acs.org

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Incumbents in the 2018 Presidential succession are: President, Peter K. Dorhout; President-Elect, Bonnie A. Charpentier; and Immediate Past President, Allison A. Campbell. Nominees for President-Elect in 2019 are, Harmon B. Abrahamson, Luis A. Echegoyen, Thomas R. Gilbert, and Mary Virginia Orna. From this list, two will be selected at this Council meeting to run (along with any others nominated by petition) as candidates for election this fall (see Council agenda **Item IV**, **A**, **pages 19-27**).

DESCRIPTION OF DUTIES AND DESIRED CHARACTERISTICS FOR PRESIDENT-ELECT NOMINEES

The President is the Primary Spokesperson and Representative of the Society

Some Major Duties:

- Work with the Board of Directors to identify key themes and priorities; supports those themes with presidential programming at National Meetings
- Preside at Council meetings
- Work jointly with the Chair of the Board in the appointment of members to Committees
- Chair the Council Policy Committee
- Advocacy activities
- Spokesperson on ACS policies to the media around the world

Some Desired Characteristics:

- Ability to represent the Society on the world stage
- Ability to work collaboratively on and with the ACS Board of Directors
- Integrity and strong ethical character
- Strong commitment to advocate for chemistry
- Enthusiasm for the job
- Ability to communicate in writing and orally
- Business acumen
- Leadership Experience
- Visibility and credibility within the profession
- Vision and Ability to get things done
- Flexibility to travel
- Likes meeting and working with members

DESCRIPTION OF DUTIES AND DESIRED CHARACTERISTICS FOR DIRECTOR-AT-LARGE & DISTRICT DIRECTOR CANDIDATES

The Board of Directors is the legal representative of the SOCIETY, and, as such, shall have, hold, and administer all the property, funds, and affairs of the SOCIETY.

Some Major Duties:

- Ensure the fiscal soundness and financial stability of the Society
- Review and approve the Society's annual operating budget
- Establish salary and compensation of ACS executives
- Review and approve new Society initiatives
- Establish and revisit Society policies
- Guide the ACS in accord with the mission and vision
- Ensure that the ACS meets the needs of its members, its constituents, and the profession
- Attend Board & Council meetings; execute assigned duties; represent the Board at other events
- Minimum time commitment: 30-45 days per year

Some Desired Characteristics:

- Integrity and strong ethical character
- Strong communication skills
- Ability to collaborate with others in the accomplishment of goals and creation of new programs
- Business and budget acumen
- Willingness to make tough decisions
- Demonstrated leadership and governance experience
- Commitment to the Society's goals and strategic plan
- Broad vision and strategic thinking
- Places welfare of the Society above personal ambitions
- Team Player
- Likes meeting and working with members

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE

Incumbents whose terms expire at the end of 2019 are Dorothy J. Phillips and Kathleen M. Schulz. Dorothy J. Phillips is eligible for reelection. Kathleen M. Schulz is ineligible.

Wayne E. Jones, Jr., Lee H. Latimer, Ingrid Montes and Barbara Sawrey, are other Directors-at-Large. From the following candidates (plus any nominated by petition), two will be elected this fall for a three-year term, 2019-2021: Frank D. Blum, Lee H. Latimer, Ingrid Montes and Angela W. Peters (see Council agenda Item IV, C, pages 29-33).

DIRECTOR, DISTRICT II

Elected by members of local sections having their headquarters in Indiana (except the St. Joseph Valley and Wabash Valley Sections), Kentucky, Michigan (except the Kalamazoo and Upper Peninsula Sections), North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee (except the Memphis Section), Pennsylvania (except the Central Pennsylvania, Erie, Lehigh Valley, Penn-York and Susquehanna Valley Sections), Virginia, West Virginia; and those members with addresses in the states of Indiana (except the counties of Lake and Porter), Kentucky, Ohio, Michigan (except Dickinson County), Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia who are not assigned to local sections.

The incumbent, Christina Bodurow, is eligible for re-election.

DIRECTOR, DISTRICT IV

Elected by members of local sections having their headquarters in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee (except the East Tennessee, Nashville and Northeast Tennessee Sections), Texas, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico; and those members with addresses in Arkansas (except the counties of Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Columbia, Drew, Hemptead, Lafayette, Miller, Ouachita, and Union), Georgia (except the counties of Catoosa, Chattooga, Dade, Walker, and Whitfield), Louisiana and certain counties in Texas who are not assigned to local sections.

The incumbent, Rigoberto Hernandez, is eligible for re-election.

OTHER DISTRICT DIRECTORS

The other District Directors who continue in office beyond 2019 are:

Teri Quinn Gray, District III Paul W. Jagodzinski, District VI

District Directors will be elected this fall for the 2019-2021 term to represent Districts I and V. The slates of nominees are (see Item IV, B, page 28):

DISTRICT I
Mary K. Carroll
Katherine L. Lee
Gerard F. Parkin
Laura E. Pence

DISTRICT V
John E. Adams
Mark C. Cesa
Joseph A. Heppert
Catherine H. Middlecamp

REQUEST FOR SUGGESTIONS FOR 2020 SOCIETY DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS

Dear Dr. McQuire: I propose the following MEMBERS for consideration by the Committee on Nominations and Elections: PRESIDENT-ELECT Name	Attention: Dr. Les W. McQuire nomelect@acs.org	
Name	Dear Dr. McQuire:	
Name	I propose the following MEMBERS fo	or consideration by the Committee on Nominations and Elections
Affiliation		PRESIDENT-ELECT
DIRECTOR-AT-LARGE Name	Name	Name
Name	Affiliation	Affiliation
Affiliation Affiliation	<u>r</u>	DIRECTOR-AT-LARGE
*DIRECTOR, DISTRICT II Name Name Affiliation *DIRECTOR, DISTRICT IV Name Name Affiliation Affiliation Suggested by: (Name Optional)	Name	Name
Name	Affiliation	Affiliation
Affiliation	<u>*D</u>	DIRECTOR, DISTRICT II
*DIRECTOR, DISTRICT IV Name Name Affiliation Affiliation Suggested by: (Name Optional)	Name	Name
Name	Affiliation	Affiliation
Affiliation Affiliation Suggested by: (Name Optional)	<u>*D</u>	IRECTOR, DISTRICT IV
Suggested by: (Name Optional)	Name	Name
	Affiliation	Affiliation
(Local Section or Division Affiliation)		Suggested by: (Name Optional)
*See preceding pages for territory	*C	(Local Section or Division Affiliation)

(This form must be received no later than May 15, 2018.)

^{3/18}