#### In Recognition of the Following Achievements in 2016-2017

#### Eastern New Mexico University Awards

Outstanding Student in Beginning Chemistry	Adeline Lee Guerro
ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior	Hayley Goldblatt

#### Lubbock Christian University Award

ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior Ashley Rojas

#### Texas Tech University Award

ACS POLYED Undergrad. Award in Org. Chem. Aaron B. Lambert ACS Undergraduate Award in Organic Chemistry ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior Holden R. Fried

#### Wayland Baptist University Awards

Outstanding Chemistry Major	Ethan Nicholson
ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior	Mylie Oberg

#### ACS Chemistry Olympiad

Lubbock High School

Jake Watts

#### South Plains Regional Science & Engineering Fair

Christ the King Cathedral School	Hannah Appel
Christ the King Cathedral School	Andrew Hernandez
Lubbock High School	Deborah de Farias

#### Southeastern New Mexico Regional Research Challenge

Jr. Divisioin	
Carlsbad Intermediate School	Michael Ackman
Sr. Divisioin	
Dora High School	Jessalyn Beaty

#### 2017 South Plains Local Section ACS Officers

Chair	
Chair-Elect	
Secretary	
Treasurer	
Councilor	
Alternate Councilor	

Dr. Juchao Yan Hannah Greenburg Dr. Julie Marshall Dr. David Birney Dr. Robert Long Dr. David Klein

#### Texas Tech University ACS-SA Officers

Joshua Twaddle
Alejandro Oropez
Bernardo Galvan
Amy Daniel
Matthew Jordan
Kayleah Cumpian
Adrian Quintana
Dr. Dominick Casadonte

#### Wayland Baptist University SCACS Officers

President Vice-President Treasurer Faculty Advisors Dillon Frazer Ethan Nicholson Tim McCutcheon Dr. Gary Gray & Dr. Robert Moore



**Banquet Program** 

**Tomoyasu Mani** University of Connecticut

Tomo Mani earned a B.S. in Biochemistry from the University of Texas at Dallas in 2009 where he worked in the laboratory of Prof. A. Dean Sherry. He was a Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow at the University of Texas at Dallas Southwestern Medical Center in 2008. He then obtained a Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics from the University of Pennsylvania under the guidance of Prof. Sergei A. Vinogradov in 2013. His graduate study focused on magnetic field effects on molecular emissivity. From 2014-2016, he was a Goldhaber Fellow in the Chemistry Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory, working in the Electron- and Photo-Induced Processes for Molecular Energy Conversion Group directed by Dr. John R. Miller. In the fall of 2016, he joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Connecticut as an assistant professor. In 2016, he won the Blavatnik Regional Award in Chemistry. His current research explores the application of physical and organic chemistry methods to understand the basic mechanisms of charge and energy transfer in molecular systems for applications in renewable energy and biomedical imaging technologies.

Award Presentations Science Fair and Chemistry Olympiad	Dr. Robert Long
Eastern New Mexico University → Dept. of Chemistry Awards	Dr. Juchao Yan
<ul> <li>Lubbock Christian University</li> <li>Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry Award</li> </ul>	Dr. Amanda Boston
<ul> <li>Texas Tech University</li> <li>➢ Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry Award</li> </ul>	Dr. Robert Long
<ul><li>Wayland Baptist University</li><li>➢ Dept. of Chemistry Awards</li></ul>	Dr. Robert Moore

# The South Plains Section of the American Chemical Society

## and the local Student Affiliate Chapters

along with the

### Departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry at

Eastern New Mexico University Lubbock Christian University South Plains College Texas Tech University Wayland Baptist University

## Welcome You to the

# 2017 AWARDS BANQUET

Texas Tech Club Lubbock, TX April 21, 2017

