In Recognition of the Following Achievements in 2010

South Plains Regional Science Fair Winners

Elementary	Madison Pine, "Lead Inspector"
	Honey Elementary School, Lubbock, TX
Junior High	Madison Tuazon , "Fermentation = Ethanol"
	Christ the King School, Lubbock, TX
Senior High	Kaimi Williams, "BPA – a Tiny Dose of
	Poison"
	O'Donnell High School, O'Donnell, TX

Outstanding High School Teacher

Lori Smith	Ropes High School, Ropesville, 7	ΓΧ
------------	----------------------------------	----

Southeastern New Mexico Regional Science Fair Winners

Lilly Chiou, "How Much Glucose is in Your
Fruits?"
PR Leyva Middle School, Carlsbad, NM
Hellen Chiou, "The Effect of Sunlight on the
Preservation of Vitamin B2"
Carlsbad High School, Carlsbad, NM

Eastern New Mexico University Awards

Beginning Chemistry	Brendan McGrath and
	Christopher Topmiller
Organic Chemistry	Justin Squire and William Squire
ACS Outstanding Graduating Sen	ior Myriam Lansang and
	Cassandra Lazos

Lubbock Christian University Award

ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior

Austin Privett

South Plains College Awards

Outstanding Student in General ChemistryAaron ThompsonOutstanding Student in ChemistryAaron SanfordACS Outstanding Student in ChemistryCody Clark

Texas Tech University Award

ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior	Ruiyang Jiang
-----------------------------------	---------------

Wayland Baptist University Awards

Outstanding FreshmanFenil PatelOutstanding Laboratory AssistantJodi SheldonTemple ScholarStephanie WhitakerOutstanding Chemistry StudentTonia PerezACS Outstanding Graduating SeniorKassie Hughes

Texas Tech University SAACS Officers

President	Nyssa Martinez
Vice-President	Malik Al-Afyouni
Treasurer	Bryan Carlson
Secretary	Ashley Sexton
Historian	Joe Brown
SORC Representative	Blake Werner
Activity Coordinator	Laci Singer
Webmaster	Ashlee Taylor

Wayland Baptist University SAACS Officers

President	Daniel Ballinger
Vice-President	Austin Howard
Treasurer	Tonia Perez
Secretary	Jodi Sheldon
Public Relations	Elida Arsiaga

American Chemical Society

2010 Awards Banquet



Banquet Program

......Mixer.....

Introductions

Dr. Michael Fuertes Chair, ACS South Plains

Keynote Address

Dr. László Kürti Damon Runyon Cancer Research Fellow Harvard University

Dr. László Kürti received his Ph.D. in 2006 in Synthetic Organic Chemistry from the University of Pennsylvania. As a graduate student, Dr. Kürti authored the now classic book: "Strategic Applications of Named Reactions in Organic Synthesis." He is currently a Damon Runyon Cancer Research Fellow at Harvard University in the group of Prof. E. J. Corey (Nobel laureate) where he is working on the development of potent antiangiogenic agents inspired by the structure of Cortistatin A. While at Harvard, he co-authored the recent book "Molecules and Medicine" with Dr. Barbara Czakó and Prof. E. J. Corey.

.....Dinner.....

Award Presentations

Science Fair Winners and HS Teacher Recognition

Eastern New Mexico University

Dept. of Chemistry Awards

Lubbock Christian University➢ Dept. of Chemistry Awards

- **Texas Tech University**
 - Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry Award

Wayland Baptist University

Dept. of Chemistry Awards

Dr. John Marx Chair, Awards Committee

> Dr. Robert Long Associate Professor

Dr. Byron Rogers Professor and Dept. Chair

Dr. Dominick Casadonte Professor and Dept. Chair

> **Dr. Joel Boyd** Associate Professor

We gratefully acknowledge the ACS for sponsorship of this event and funding of the awards and Dr. Kürti for the generous donation of books to the ACS Outstanding Graduating Seniors.

The South Plains Section of the American Chemical Society

and the local Student Affiliate Chapters

along with the

Departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry at

Eastern New Mexico University Lubbock Christian University South Plains College Texas Tech University Wayland Baptist University

Welcome You to the

2010 AWARDS BANQUET

International Cultural Center Texas Tech University Campus April 16, 2010

