In Recognition of the Following Achievements in 2009

2009 South Plains Regional Science Fair Winners

Elementary	Cade Means, "Race Your Marbles to Discover
-	a Liquid's Viscosity"; Ropes Elementary
	Zoie Hoffman, "Juice Fermentation";
	Bowie Elementary
Junior High	Lucas Rodriguez, "Using a Robot as a Vehicle
	to Erase Biohazardous Chemicals from the Air";
	O'Donnell Jr. High
Senior High	Justin Gray, "Enzymatic Hydrolysis using
	Monosaccharide and Polysaccharide
	Materials", Christ the King

Southeastern New Mexico Regional Science Fair Winners

Junior	Sam Howard, "Solar Cells and Electrolytes"
	PR Leyva Middle School, Carlsbad
Senior	Santiago Chavez, "Analysis of Antibacterial
	Properties of Berberis Trifolioata"
	Carlsbad High School

Outstanding High School Teacher

Matt Ryan Lubbock Coronado High School

Eastern New Mexico University Chemistry Awards

Beginning Chemistry	Neha Shrestha
Organic Chemistry	Jennifer Hunter
ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior	Angela Dolph

South Plains College Chemistry Awards

Outstanding Student in General Chemistry ACS Outstanding Student in Chemistry Liesl Quick Amanda Sooter

Texas Tech University Chemistry Department Awards

ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior

Nicholas Bergfeld

Wayland Baptist University Chemistry Department Awards

Outstanding Freshman	Stephanie Whitaker
Outstanding Laboratory Assistant	Stephanie Whitaker
Temple Scholar	Kasandra Hughes
Outstanding Chemistry Student	Jonathan Carey
Outstanding Undergraduate Research and Thesis	Jonathan Carey
ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior	Stephanie Skiles

South Plains College SAACS Officers

President Vice-President Joni Granados Frances Sepulbeda

Texas Tech University SAACS Officers

President	Khiem Tran
Vice-President	Nyssa Martinez
Treasurer	Bryan Carlson
Secretary	Ashley Sexton
Historian	Blesson Matthew
SOAC Representative	Blake Wemer
Activity Coordinator	Laci Singer
Public Relations	Malik Al-Afyouni
Webmaster	Ashlee Taylor

Wayland Baptist University SAACS Officers

PresidentZaclVice-PresidentRaclTreasurerStepSecretaryStepPublic RelationsAll

Zachariah Hawkins Rosemary Ribera Austin Howard Stephanie Whitaker Asenath Arauza

American Chemical Society

2009 Awards Banquet



Awards Program

Introductions

Dr. Joachim Weber Chair, ACS South Plains

American Chemical Society Awards

Dept. of Chemistry Awards

Dept. of Chemistry Awards

> Dept. of Chemistry and

Wayland Baptist University

Biochemistry Awards

Dept. of Chemistry Awards

Eastern New Mexico University

South Plains College

Texas Tech University

Address

Dr. John Marx Chair, Awards Committee

Dr. Robert Long Associate Professor

> Dr. Jesse Yeh Science Dept. Chair

Dr. Dominick Casadonte Chair

> Dr. Joel E. Boyd Associate Professor

Dr. Bob Smith Provost and Sr. Vice President Texas Tech University

Dr. Bob Smith received his PhD in Pharmaceutical Chemistry from the University of Michigan in 1968. His MS (1964) and BS (1963) degrees were earned at the University of Michigan and St. Johns University respectively. Dr. Smith has held faculty and administrative positions at the University of Iowa, the University of Texas-Austin, Washington State University, the University of Connecticut, and the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville. Dr. Smith is the author or co-author of 291 articles and 8 books.

We gratefully acknowledge the external sponsors of these scholarships and ACS programs.

The South Plains Section of the American Chemical Society

and the local Student Affiliates Chapters

along with the

Departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry at

Eastern New Mexico University South Plains College Texas Tech University Wayland Baptist University

Welcome You to the

2009 AWARDS BANQUET

Merket Alumni Center Texas Tech University April 17, 2009

