In Recognition of the Following Achievements in 2011-2012

South Plains Regional Science Fair Winners

Elementary Paul Burow, "Chemistry of Fruit Smell"

Murfee Elementary

Junior High Victoria Altenberg, "Ozone, Friend or Foe"

Lubbock Cooper

Senior High Juliette Mark "Cold vs. Warm Rate of

Cooling of Water" Christ the King School

Southeastern New Mexico Regional Science Fair Winners

Junior High Aiswarya Pillai, "Effect of Temperature &

Condensation on Catalase Enzyme Activity."

P.R. Leyva (Carlsbad, NM).

Senior High Michael Dugas, "Silver Superconductors, Is It

Possible?" Carlsbad High School

Outstanding High School Teacher

Sonja Crowell Lubbock High School, Lubbock, TX

Eastern New Mexico University Awards

Beginning Chemistry
Organic Chemistry
Casey Loofburrow and Ryan Mitchell
ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior
Joshua Brown

Lubbock Christian University Award

ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior Tiffany Guererro

South Plains College Awards

Outstanding Student in General Chemistry
Outstanding Student in Organic Chemistry
ACS Outstanding Student in Chemistry
Brandon Kopper

Texas Tech University Award

ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior Eileen Judkins

Wayland Baptist University Awards

Temple Scholars
Outstanding Chemistry Major
ACS Outstanding Graduating Senior

Brian Adamson and Anna Kite
Trevor Burrow
Stephanie Whitaker

Chemistry Olympiad

Senior High Thuy Trang Hoang Le

ACS Service Award

50 Years of Service Prof. Richard Bartsch

2012 South Plains Local Section ACS Officers

Chair Dr. Michael Mayer
Chair-Elect Dr. Christopher Bradley
Secretary Dr. Jon Thompson
Treasurer Dr. David Birney
Councilor Dr. Bill Poirer

Texas Tech University SAACS Officers

President Anibal Dominguez
Vice-President Forrest Stovall
Treasurer John Gomez
Secretary Erin Yen
Historian Kevin Rana
SORC Representative Rachel Steinberg

Wayland Baptist University SAACS Officers

President Trevor Burrow
Vice-President Libby Saultz
Treasurer Anna Kite
Secretary Jessica Kenneson
Public Relations
Faculty Advisors Gary Gray and Robert Moore



Banquet Program

<u>Banquet Program</u> Mixer Dinner	
Keynote Address	Prof. Robert Bates University of Florida
Robert P. Bates received his B.S. degree in Food Technology from MIT. After several years in the food industry, he obtained an M.S. degree in Food Science from the University of Hawaii and a Ph.D. in Food Science from MIT. After a year at the Institute of Nutrition of Central America and Panama in Guatemala, he joined the University of Florida where he has been for 3+ decades. He is presently Professor Emeritus of Food Science in the Food Science and Human Nutrition Department. Bates has developed and presented many short courses in the U.S. and overseas and has been an ACS tour speaker on various food science and technology topics for over 25 years.	
Award Presentations	
Science Fair Winners and Outstanding High School Teacher Recognition	Prof. John Marx Chair, Awards Committee
Eastern New Mexico University Dept. of Chemistry Awards	Prof. Robert Long
Lubbock Christian University ➤ Dept. of Chemistry Awards	Prof. Byron Rogers
South Plains College ➤ Dept. of Chemistry Awards Texas Tech University ➤ Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry Award	Prof. Jesse Yeh Prof. Carol Korzeniewski
Wayland Baptist University ➤ Dept. of Chemistry Awards	Prof. Gary Gray
Chemistry Olympiad	Matt Ryan
50 Years of Service	Prof. Michael Mayer

We gratefully acknowledge the ACS for sponsorship of this event and funding of the awards. In addition, we thank the following donors for the generous donation of the banquet door prizes.

Prof. Michael Mayer

Door Prizes

The South Plains Section of the American Chemical Society

and the local Student Affiliates Chapters

along with the

Departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry at

Eastern New Mexico University
Lubbock Christian University
South Plains College
Texas Tech University
Wayland Baptist University

Welcome You to the

2012 AWARDS BANQUET

Lubbock Women's Club 2020 Broadway Avenue, Lubbock, TX April 19, 2012

