

American Chemical Society Wichita Section

March 2010 Newsletter

Stephen Donnelly, Editor

Section Meeting

There is no section meeting this month.

Chair's Message

Greetings to the Local Section of American Chemical Society!

We are sending out an abbreviated newsletter to update all of you about several items. To begin, during our April meeting in Wichita we will present awards for outstanding Senior Chemistry students. Instructors who wish to honor outstanding students need to get that information to Dr. Tom Wiese in the next two weeks ahead of the April meeting. See the officer information for contact information for Tom. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Tom for coordinating this effort along with his efforts for the Chemistry Olympiad.

Please be sure to mark your calendars for the April meeting to be held in Wichita on April 20, 2010. More details will follow in the next newsletter. The scheduled speaker is Dr. Ariel Fenster from McGill University who has vast experience in medical, biochemical, and genetically modified products. In fact, Dr. Fenster's talk will focus on genetically modified foods.

Have a great March and good luck to you, even if you are not Irish, and plan on getting together with your local section on April 20.

Gratefully yours,

Robin Jackson, Chair ACS Wichita Section

2009 Section Officers:

Chair: **Robin Jackson**Central Christian College
1200 South Main
P.O. Box 1403
McPherson, KS 67460
620-241-0723 (ext. 355)
robin.jackson@centralchristian.edu

Chair Elect: **Jim Bann**Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Wichita State University
Wichita, Kansas 76260-0051
316-978-7373
jim.bann@wichita.edu

Secretary/Treasurer: **Jung Oh**Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
Kansas State University at Salina
Salina, KS 67401
785-826-2915
jroh@k-state.edu

Councilor: **Paul Rillema** (2006-2009) Department of Chemistry Wichita State University Wichita, KS 67260-0051 316-978-3732 paul.rillema@wichita.edu

Alternate Councilor: **Art Landis** (2006-2009)
Department of Chemistry
Campus Box 4030
Emporia State University
Emporia, KS 66801
620-341-5992
alandis@emporia.edu

Immediate Past Chair Alan Oberley

Kapaun Mt Carmel High School 8506 East Central Ave Wichita, KS 67206 316-636-2437

aoberley@kapaun.org

Executive Committee Members

Malonne Davies

Department of Chemistry 1200 Commercial St., Campus Box 4030 Emporia State University Emporia, KS 66801 620-341-5958 mdavies@emporia.edu

Newsletter Editor Stephen Donnelly

Department of Chemistry Fort Hays State University Hays, KS 67601 785-628-4506 sdonnell@fhsu.edu

Webmaster Eric Trump

Department of Chemistry Emporia State University Emporia, KS 66801 620-341-5991 etrump@emporia.edu

Tom Wiese

Department of Chemistry Fort Hays State University Hays, KS, 67601 785-628-4505 twiese@fhsu.edu