Donivan Porterfield

ISEF 2015 – American Chemical Society Special Awards

Discussion created by Donivan Porterfield on May 16, 2015

The American Chemical Society awarded the following Special Awards at the 2015 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (May 10-15) in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania:


The American Chemical Society Education Division promotes excellence in science education and science literacy through a number of activities supporting teachers and learners of chemistry. Through its participation in Intel ISEF, ACS encourages and supports high school students in their exploration of the chemical sciences through research experiences.



First Award of $4,000

Photoelectrochemical Properties of 2-D Transition Metal Dichalcogenides (TMDCs) Functionalized with Porphyrins

Arjun Srinivasan Ramani, 16, West Lafayette Junior Senior High School, West Lafayette, Indiana



Second Award of $3,000

Development of a Novel Radiation Shielding Material

Seyit Alp Herdem, 19, Isiklar Air Force High School, Bursa, Turkey

Tahsin Elmas, 19, Isiklar Air Force High School, Bursa, Turkey



Third Award of $2,000

Synthesizing and Utilizing Difluoromethyl- & Trifluoromethyl-Artemisinins to Interrupt the Life Cycle of Malaria Parasites, Year III

Shreya Sundaresh Ramayya, 17, Palos Verdes Peninsula High School, Rolling Hills Estates, California



Fourth Award of $1,000

Measurement of Radon Emanation and Its Correlation with Indoor Radon Levels in Some Areas of Mallow

Caoimhe Marie Cronin, 15, St.Mary's Secondary School, Cork, Ireland

Shauna Murphy, 14, St.Mary's Secondary School, Cork, Ireland



Certificate of Honorable Mention

Formation of Poly(3-hydroxybutyrate) Inclusion Compounds with Urea and Thiourea

Pavithran T. Ravindran, 17, W. Tresper Clarke High School, Westbury, New York


Bagasse-Based Activated Carbon as Effective Adsorbent for Heavy Metal Contamination from Industrial Activities (Case Study: Gold Mining Area in Mandor River, West Kalimantan)

Hansen Hartono, 17, SMA Katolik Gembala Baik, Pontianak, Indonesia

Shinta Dewi, 18, SMA Katolik Gembala Baik, Pontianak, Indonesia


Nucleophilic Difluoromethylation of Arylidene Meldrum's Acid Derivatives

Alexey Trifonov, 17, Moscow Chemical Lyceum, Moscow, Russian Federation


Comparative Studies of Gold Nanoparticles as Chemical Sensing Materials: Electronic Tongue vs. Electronic Nose, Year Three

Seung Hye (Beatrice) Choi, 16, University High School - Fresno, Fresno, California


Novel Design of Water Soluble Porphyrin Containing Supramolecular Complex Nanoparticles for Enhanced Photodynamic Cancer Therapy

Swetha Vanathy Shutthanandan, 17, Richland High School, Richland, Washington


From Greenhouse Gas to an Energy Source of the Future: New Findings on Emission and Formation of Methane

Antonia Hartmann, 19, Hanns-Seidel-Gymnasium, Hosbach, Germany

Felicitas Kaplar, 18, Hanns-Seidel-Gymnasium, Hosbach, Germany



All award winners and honorable mentions receive a subscription to "ChemMatters."